Journalists group announces awards ahead of convention

by Fred Kuhr
In anticipation of NLGJA – The Association of LGBTQ Journalists’ annual convention in September, the announced the recipients of its Excellence in Journalism Awards for work produced in 2017.
The NLGJA Journalist of the Year honor was awarded to celebrated reporter Ronan Farrow, whose articles in The New Yorker magazine are credited with helping to uncover the Harvey Weinstein sexual allegations. The Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for the LGBTQ Journalist of the Year was awarded to Diane Anderson-Minshall, editor-at-large of The Advocate and editor-in-chief of HIV Plus Magazine.
Diane Anderson-Minshall
“I am blown away by the work that was created in 2017,” said NLGJA President Jen Christensen. “While it was difficult to select winners from such a talented pool of submissions, I am so proud that our panel of judges has recognized these award winners. These recipients have set the bar for coverage of our community and have given me hope for increasingly terrific LGBTQ coverage in the years to come.”
NLGJA’s Excellence in Journalism Awards were established in 1993 to foster, recognize and reward excellence in journalism on issues related to the LGBTQ community. In recent years, the program was expanded to over 30 categories and this year included the creation of awards for Excellence in Food Writing, Excellence in Queer People of Color (QPOC) Coverage and Excellence in Longform Journalism.
The awards will be presented throughout the NLGJA National Convention to be held September 6-9 in Palm Springs, Calif.
Regarding Farrow, one judge said, “I can think of no other journalist who had a bigger impact this year

Ronan Farrow

than Ronan Farrow. [He inspired] countless women and men to speak out against the predators who, for far too long, have been in great positions of power. Seeing the impact of his work, work that was not even welcome initially at his first media outlet, he continued to pursue the story, even at some risk to himself. In addition to the impact, the work is incredibly well-written, researched and reported, and he deserves recognition.”

On Anderson-Minshall’s work, another judge said, “Great interviews, wonderful depth, elegant writing and incredible when you know that Diane also runs the show for The Advocate. I don’t know how she does it all.”
Another high-profile honor, the Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism, went to Ken Schwencke for “Why America Fails at Gathering Hate Crime Statistics,” for ProPublica and the Documenting Hate Coalition.
For more information about NLGJA’s upcoming convention, go to
The rest of the 2018 NLGJA Excellence in Journalism Awards — including those honoring LGBTQ media — are listed below.
Print/Online Awards:
Excellence in Book Writing Award
Judy Wieder for “Random Events Tend To Cluster,” Lisa Hagan Books
Excellence in Feature Writing Award
Excellence in Feature Writing Award (Non-daily)
Alex Mohajer for “A Tale of Two Marches,” HuffPost
Excellence in Food Writing Award
Excellence in Longform Journalism Award
Excellence in News Writing Award
Jen Colletta for “Lesbian Couple Turned Away From PA Bridal Shop,” Philadelphia Gay News
Excellence in News Writing Award (Non-daily)
Excellence in Photojournalism Award
Carolyn Van Houten for “Life in Transition,” San Antonio Express-News
Excellence in Profile Writing Award
Excellence in Sports Writing Award
Excellence in Student Journalism Award
Excellence in Travel Writing Award
Digital Awards:
Excellence in Blogging Award
Josh Robbins for “Fauci: From a Practical Standpoint the Risk is Zero,”
Excellence in Digital Video Award
Roman Feeser, Alex Romano, Angelica Fusco, Nia Stevens and Luisa Garcia for “Uncharted: State of Mind,” CBS News
Excellence in Multimedia Award
Excellence in Online Journalism Award
Editorial Awards:
Excellence in Column Writing Award
Lucas Grindley for “LGBTs to America: ‘We Told You So’,” The Advocate
Excellence in Opinion/Editorial Writing Award
Broadcast Awards:
Excellence in Documentary Award
Nick Broomfield and Marc Hoeferlin for “Whitney: Can I Be Me,” Showtime and BBC
Excellence in Local Television Award
Peggy Kusinski, Katy Smyser, Lisa Capitanini, Richard Moy, Julio Martinez and Nathan Halder for “Some Local Rules Keep Transgender Athletes From Competing In High Schools,” NBC5 Chicago
Excellence in Network Television Award
Todd Cross and Gabe Gutierrez for “One Year After Pulse Nightclub Shooting, 4 People Reflect on How Their Lives Changed,” Sunday TODAY with Willie Geist/NBC
Excellence in Podcast Award
Jacob Brogan and Benjamin Frisch for “Working,” Slate
Excellence in Radio Award
Natalie Winston, Gabriela Saldivia and David Greene for “’They Told Me I Wasn’t A Human Being’: Gay Men Speak Of Brutal Treatment In Chechnya,” National Public Radio
Coverage Awards:
Excellence in Bisexual Coverage Award
Excellence in Health or Fitness Coverage Award
Aliyah Musaliar, Isabella Ortiz, Noel Gasca and Jenny Asarnow for “Why Was I Taught Sex Ed by a Man Who Uses the Word ‘Slut’?” KUOW Puget Sound Public Radio
Excellence in HIV/AIDS Coverage Award
Linda Villarosa for “America’s Hidden HIV Epidemic,” The New York Times Magazine 
Excellence in Queer People of Color (QPOC) Coverage Award
Margie Fishman for “A Child’s Journey to ‘Truegender‘,” The News Journal/USA Today
Excellence in Religion Coverage Award
Phoebe Wang for “God + The Gays,” The Heart (Radiotopia)
Excellence in Transgender Coverage Award
Ryan Kost for “Finding Himself,” The San Francisco Chronicle

Volume 20
Issue 4

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *