What’s happening at your publication? Let us know. Email editor Fred Kuhr at
FRANK BRUNI, famed NEW YORK TIMES columnist, was announced as the recipient of NLGJA’s RANDY SHILTS Award for LGBT Coverage. He will receive the awards during the group’s Dateline: DC event on November 17, 2016.
JEN CHRISTENSEN of CNN was re-elected president of the NLGJA Board of Directors. SARAH BLAZACKI of the U.S. Agency for International Development Office of Inspector General was re-elected to her position as vice president of print and online. Newly elected members of the board include ORIOL GUTIERREZ of POZ, ERIC HEGEDUS of the NEW YORK POST, BELINDA HERNANDEZ of CNN, and CHRISTINA KAHRL of ESPN. They will serve two-year terms. STEVE ROSEN of ab+c and ROBIN PHILLIPS of CASTELAZO CONTENT were reappointed for one-year terms. New appointees LORRAINE SEMBRA of CNN and SENTA SCARBOROUGH of E! NEWS will also serve one-year terms. They join current board members KEN MIGUEL (vice president of broadcast), RICK STUCKEY (secretary), SHARIF DURHAMS (treasurer), APRIL HUNT, BRETT LARSON, and JEFF TRUESDELL.
Andy Lien of Lavender Magazine

ION ARIZONA, based in Phoenix, celebrated its 15th anniversary with its July 2016 issue.
ANDY LIEN celebrated five years with Edina, Minn.-based LAVENDER MAGAZINE, where she serves as managing editor.
LESBIAN NEWS, based in Torrance, Calif., celebrated its 42nd anniversary in August 2016.
DILLON LEWIS is the new Communications and Marketing Coordinator at NLGJA. He is a recent graduate of the School of Media and Public Affairs at The George Washington University. COURTNEY KEENAN, a senior communications student at Stockton University, is the organization’s new communications intern.
Sarah McBride of
the Human Rights

SARAH MCBRIDE was announced as the new National Press Secretary for the HUMAN RIGHTS CAMPAIGN. Previously, she was campaigns and communications manager for the LGBT Research and Communications Project at the Center for American Progress. NICK MORROW is the new Press Secretary for HRC’s Project One America.

OUTLOOK, based in Columbus, Ohio, celebrated its 20th anniversary with its June 2016 issue.
MARK SEGAL, founder and publisher of PHILADELPHIA GAY NEWS, received NLGJA’s Book of the Year Award for his memoir “And Then I Danced: Traveling the Road to LGBT Equality.”
THE WASHINGTON BLADE won eight awards from the D.C. chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists in July 2016. Blade reporter and international news editor MICHAEL K. LAVERS won in the weekly newspaper category of Best Series for his coverage of LGBT rights issues in Cuba titled, “Snapshots from Cuba.” Editor KEVIN NAFF took two awards, one in the category of Commentary & Criticism and first place in the category of Editorial/Opinion. Features editor JOEY DIGUGLIELMO was a finalist in the Commentary & Criticism category and took first place in the Features category. Reporter MARIAH COOPER was honored as the finalist in that category. Reporter LOU CHIBBARO JR won first place in the “Non-Breaking News” category. Lavers was recognized as a finalist in that category as well.

Volume 18
Issue 6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *