NLGJA announces Excellence in Journalism winners

by Fred Kuhr
Ahead of its annual convention next month in Philadelphia, NLGJA announced the recipients of its 2016 Excellence in Journalism Award winners. The highest individual awards, NLGJA Journalist of the Year and Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for the LGBTQ Journalist of the Year, were awarded to Katie Barnes and Erik Hall, respectively.
Katie Barnes

Hall is being honored because of his work writing for the website OutSports during 2016. Barnes also covers sports, writing for

“We are thrilled each year by the work that is nominated for NLGJA’s Excellence in Journalism Awards,” said NLGJA president Jen Christensen, “and this year was no different. All of the award recipients are doing their fair share to advance NLGJA’s mission of promoting fair and accurate LGBTQ coverage, and it is our privilege to recognize their outstanding work.”

NLGJA’s Excellence in Journalism Awards were established in 1993 to foster, recognize and reward excellence in journalism on issues related to the LGBT community. Last year the awards were expanded to 30 categories and this year included the creation of the Excellence in Religion Coverage Award.
With support from the Gannett Foundation, the Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism was presented to Meredith Talusan with Matthew Rodriguez, Anna Swartz, Brianna Provenzano and Marie Solis for “Unerased: Counting Transgender Lives.” The award includes a $5,000 grant.
The awards will be formally presented throughout the NLGJA convention September 7-10 in Philadelphia.
Erik Hall

The complete list of award winners include:

Special Recognition Awards:
NLGJA Journalist of the Year Award
Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for the LGBTQ Journalist of the Year
The Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism
Meredith Talusan, with Mathew Rodriguez, Anna Swartz, Brianna Provenzano and Marie Solis for “Unerased: Counting Transgender Lives,”

Print/Online Awards:
Excellence in Book Writing
Excellence in Feature Writing Award
Erin Allday for “Last Men Standing,” San Francisco Chronicle
Excellence in Feature Writing Award (Non-daily)
Jeff Chu for “Spirituality in LGBTQ Uganda,” Medium
Excellence in News Writing Award
Lauren McGaughy for “Coverage of LGBT Platform Issues (Republican National Convention),” The Dallas Morning News
Excellence in News Writing Award (Non-daily)
Excellence in Photojournalism Award
Michael Zamora for “Trans in Iowa,” The Des Moines Register
Excellence in Profile Writing Award
Excellence in Sports Writing Award
Excellence in Student Journalism Award
Louis Finley for “PrEP Continues to Face Stigma and Uncertainty,” NLGJA CONNECT: Student Journalism Project
Excellence in Travel Writing Award
Digital Awards:
Excellence in Blogging
Tim Fitzsimons for “SCRUFFtistics: 2016 Election Survey,”
Excellence in a Digital Edition Award
Manny Velasquez-Paredes, JJ Vega, Xioger Sandoval, David Duran and Ross Christianson for “Travel Heels,” Connextions Magazine
Excellence in Digital Video Award
Santiago Garcia, Jordi Oliveres, Gerry Martinez and Fer Gonzales for “Willing and Able”, Fusion
Excellence in Multimedia Award
Peter Rowe, Howard Lipin, Luis Cruz and Lara Hochuli for “How a Girl Born at 2 Pounds Became a Happy Boy,” The San Diego Union-Tribune
Excellence in Online Journalism Award
J. Bryan Lowder and June Thomas for “The Lesbian Issue,” Slate – Outward
Editorial Awards:
Excellence in Column Writing
Derrick Clifton for “Derrick Clifton on Identity, Culture, and Social Justice,” Chicago Reader
Excellence in Opinion/Editorial Writing Award
Broadcast Awards:
Excellence in Documentary Award
Lizzie Gottlieb, Carmen L. Vicencio, Justine Nagan, Christopher Hastings and Chris White for “America ReFramed – Romeo Romeo,” WORLD Channel
Excellence in Local Television Award
Megan Mitchell and Cliff Naylor for “Two Spirits,” KFYR-TV
Excellence in Network Television Award
ESPN/E:60 for “E:60 Life as Matt,” ESPN
Excellence in Podcasts Award
Marlo Mack, Jim Gates and Whitney Henry-Lester for “How to Be a Girl,” KUOW
Excellence in Radio Award
Jeff Tiberii, Jess Clark, Elizabeth Baier, Dave DeWitt and Brent Wolfe for “HB2 Coverage,” North Carolina Public Radio WUNC
Coverage Awards:
Excellence in Bisexual Coverage Award
Excellence in Health or Fitness Coverage
Michelle Nash for “No League of Their Own: Transgender Athletes,” Fusion
Excellence in HIV/AIDS Coverage Award
Erin Allday for “Last Men Standing,” San Francisco Chronicle
Excellence in Religion Coverage Award
Jason DeRose, Tom Gjelten, Marisa Peñaloza, Anna King, Andrea Smardon and Stina Sieg for “God vs. Gay: Bridging the Divide,” NPR
Excellence in Transgender Coverage Award
Daniel Trotta, Letitia Stein, Jon Herskovitz, Colleen Jenkins and Daniel Wiessner for “The Battle for Transgender Rights,” Reuters

Volume 19
Issue 5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *