NLGJA announces Excellence Award winners

by Joe Siegel
The National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association has announced the recipients of its annual Excellence in Journalism Awards.
“NLGJA saw unprecedented growth in nominations for the Excellence in Journalism awards during our 25th anniversary last year,” said NLGJA Awards Chair April Hunt. “This year, we expanded the categories to more than double last year’s offerings, continuing to award small and mid-sized publications, and saw exponential growth in nominated work.”
The 2016 NLGJA Journalist of the Year is Dominic Holden, national LGBT reporter for BuzzFeed. “Holden presents a really strong mix of thoughtful trans stories, a good take on familiar subject matter, some really strong characters and good depth,” wrote one judge. Holden additionally took second place in Newswriting (Non-daily) for “Why Are Black Transgender Women Getting Killed in Detroit?”
This year’s Sarah Pettit LGBT Journalist of the Year Award will go to Lucas Grindley, vice president and editorial director for Here Media.
The 2016 Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism will be presented to Jim Burress. The award, which includes a $5,000 grant, will be presented to Burress for “Fulton County Doesn’t Spend, Loses HIV Prevention Money.”

The NLGJA Excellence in Journalism Awards were established in 1993 to recognize and reward excellence in journalism on issues related to the LGBT community. 

Expanded to 30 awards in 2016, awards will be presented for excellence in Bisexual Coverage, Blogging, Book Writing, Column Writing, Digital Edition, Digital Video, Documentary, Feature Writing, Feature Writing (Non-Daily), Health or Fitness Coverage, HIV/AIDS Coverage, Local Television, Multimedia, Network Television, Newswriting, Newswriting (Non-Daily), Online Journalism, Opinion/Editorial Writing, Photojournalism, Podcasts, Profile Writing, Radio, Social Media, Sports Writing, Student Journalism, Transgender Coverage and Travel Writing in addition to several special recognition awards.
Awards will be presented during NLGJA’s annual convention in Miami Beach September 8-11.
Volume 18
Issue 5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *